View Online

Bloembuild take off 27 July 2018

Africa Architecture Awards

Online since 28.06.2017 • Filed under Professions - Architecture • From Issue 21 page(s) 38-39
Africa Architecture Awards

To Build recently attended the launch of the Africa Architecture Awards in Cape Town. By all impressions, the profession and the adjudicating panel have some tough work ahead of them.

Founded and launched by Saint-Gobain, the awards aim to recognise and reward worthy projects from across the African continent, with one overall winner garnering a $10 000 prize.

The 2017 Africa Architecture Awards seek to acknowledge standout architectural projects that have been conceived of and/or built on the African continent, and invite entries and nominations from the industry.

Anyone in the world meeting the entry criteria can enter, or be entered into the awards, as long as the project pertains to Africa. ‘Saint-Gobain, very simply, wants to be the catalyst that brings African architecture and its diaspora into the global conversation in response to the clear need for such dialogue,’ explains Evan Lockhart-Barker, the Managing Director of the Saint-Gobain Retail Business Development Initiative.

‘The Africa Architecture Awards have been established to highlight the continent’s innovative and collaborative style of solving problems – architectural or otherwise. Saint-Gobain has engaged with some of the best minds in the field to establish this programme so that the awards are relevant, contextual and progressive. We look forward to seeing the future stars and collaborative efforts this initiative will reveal!’ he adds.

Master jury of award-winning practitioners

To this end, the awards programme has key collaborators like global heavyweight Sir David Adjaye, OBE of Adjaye Associates, as the official patron, a stellar steering panel and advisory team comprising noteworthy academics and architects, as well as a formidable master jury of award-winning practitioners drawn from across Africa and the diaspora. There is no cost to enter the awards and entries close on 30 June for all categories except the People’s Choice Award, which closes on 18 August.

The master jury will identify a shortlist of 20 projects, four trophy winners and one Grand Prix winner. The official awards ceremony is set to take place on 28 September at Cape Town’s much-anticipated Zeitz MOCAA, designed by significant British architect, Thomas Heatherwick, which opens to the public that very same week.

Recognition and prestige for Grand Prix winner

The Grand Prix winner will receive a $10 000 cash prize at the awards ceremony – that’s in addition to the recognition and prestige of being named as the overall winner from across the continent. A Lifetime Achiever’s Award is given at the discretion of the master jury. It is awarded to an architect or architects who have made a significant contribution to the professions of architecture and/or urban design over a substantial period.

The seven members of the Master Jury are: Anna Abengowe (Nigeria), Patti Anahory (Cape Verde), Guillaume Koffi (Cote d’Ivoire), Phill Mashabane (South Africa), Professor Mark Olweny (Uganda), Professor Edgar Pieterse (South Africa) and Tanzeem Razak (South Africa).

Categories based on a values-based system

Rather than adopt the more conventional categories of other global awards programmes, the master jury will approach the Africa Architecture Awards through a values-based system around the following three criteria:

• Innovation – of design, materials, approach, practice, new forms of public space

• Identity – projects that deal sensitively and innovatively with heritage and tradition; that embody cultural sensitivity and contextual interpretation; that consider appropriation and repurposing of use and that attempt to translate traditional ways of building/occupying space into modern and contemporary contexts

• Implementation – the energy and inventiveness required in Africa to create and implement projects in markets with varying levels and scales of economic government support and infrastructure.

Awards will create broader awareness of issues and opportunities in the built environment

‘The intention of the awards is to create a broader awareness of the issues and opportunities inherent in the built environment. They will celebrate design excellence and promote an increased awareness of the role and importance of sound architectural theory and practice across the diaspora. We intend to honour established architects and encourage emerging and future voices,’ says Lockhart-Barker.

According to Professor Lesley Lokko, who chairs the Africa Architecture Awards steering panel and is head of the Graduate School of Architecture at the University of Johannesburg: ‘These awards present an opportunity to be an integral part of building an architectural culture that is Pan-African in its scope and ambition, but one that looks firmly towards the future. ‘Finding new means to tell an innovative, responsive and responsible narrative about what it means to be African, modern, forward-looking, inventive but also proud of our past, of our multiple heritages, cultures and contexts, and how these things coming together, are shaping a new Africa!’

Africa Architecture Awards



Issue 21

Issue 21

July 2017

This article was featured on page 38-39 of
To Build Magazine Issue 21.

Share this

Power Purchase  Conference 2018 take off 23 Nov 18
 Affiliated Members AAAMSA - The Association of Architectural Aluminium Manufacturers of South Africa | Tel: 011 805 5002 CifA Institute for Landscape Architecture in South Africa KSA - Kitchen Specialist Association | Tel: 0827878806 SAIA