View Online

Fourways take off July 2019
Cape Construction take off 14 September 18
Interbuild take off 19 Aug 2018

2015 Design awards sparkle

Online since 2.11.2015 • Filed under Advertorial • From Issue 16 page(s) 47-48
2015 Design awards sparkle

South Africa’s only premier international design show, 100% Design South Africa, announced its 2015 Design Award winners at a gala awards evening held in August 2015.

Held at 100% Design South Africa, the awards evening took place at the Spice Route Bar by Mia Widlake, and was attended by over 450 design industry guests. The 100% Design South Africa 2015 Design Awards, run in association with the Dauphin HumanDesign® Group, were decided by a prestigious 14-member panel of judges, including publishing editors, tastemakers, influencers and leading local designers. The judges were Michelle Snaddon (REAL ESTATE magazine), Naomi Larkin (HOUSE AND LEISURE), Liz Morris (CONDÉ NAST HOUSE & GARDEN), Bradley van den Berg (TOP BILLING), Sarah-Jane Buitendach (Times Media), Gary Cotterell (Ogojii), Sumien Brink and Annemarie Meintjies (VISI), Mary Jane Harris (GARDEN AND HOME), Bielle Bellingham (ELLE DECORATION), Monna Mokoena (gallerist), Richard Sparks (product designer), Daniel van der Merwe (PPC Imaginarium), Julian McGowan (Southern Guild), and Philippe van der Merwe (Tonic).

The judging process was independently audited by design champion/mentor, Lianne Burton, who facilitated the judging on behalf of 100% Design South Africa. The awards were judged in eight categories:

• Best Furniture Design

• Best Lighting Design

• Best Surface Design

• Best Textile Design

• Best Product Design

Best International Design

• Best Stand Design

• Designer of the Year

The judging criteria for each category was as follows:

Best Furniture Design: The judges were looking for a stylish piece of functional furniture from the residential, office or hospitality sector, whether local or international. This needed to be a new design from the last two years.

Best Lighting Design: The judges were on the hunt for an electrical lighting solution, whether local or international, which showed style and innovation. Energy-saving considerations, although not a prerequisite, were a bonus.

Surface Design: Here, the criteria was style and/ or innovation in wallpapers, wall treatments, wall coverings, fitted carpets, rugs, floor coverings, tiles, or 3D printed surfaces.

Best Stand Design: This award recognises a stand design that is eye-catching and promotes visitor interaction and engagement. The stand should add to the overall aesthetic and experience of 100% Design South Africa.

Designer of the Year: This award recognises a designer who displays excellence in his or her field with regards to concept, quality and design. The Designer of the Year Award was announced by Cherine Leishman of Dauphin HumanDesign® Group, the headline sponsor of 100% Design South Africa. The 2015 accolade went to David Krynauw. Each of the eight winners received a bespoke 100% Design South Africa trophy designed by leading local design duo, Dokter and Misses, and were gifted with wine by Spice Route. In addition to the 2015 Design Awards, two other competition winners were announced at the Gala event – the BOS and UJ Industrial Design Department Seating Competition, and the Southern Hospitality Furniture Design Competition. BOS collaborated with UJ’s Industrial Design Department for a seating competition to design an environmentally sustainable seating solution for BOS Brands. Monique Henderson of BOS and media partner, Bielle Bellingham, of ELLE DECORATION announced the winner. UJ student Alex Shahini took home the prize. The Southern Hospitality Furniture Design Competition was announced in honour of Julian Gelb who is the mentor of the team behind 100% Design South Africa. Southern Hospitality develops furniture for the hospitality industry and its owner, Dylan Joseph, invited interior designers to submit conceptual sketches for innovative furniture designs.

A winning chair design by Mirelle Patterson from Blacksmith Interior Inspiration was selected out of 250 entries.

The gala awards event took place on the opening night of the show, which ran at the Gallagher Convention Centre in Johannesburg in association with Dauphin HumanDesign® Group.

Winners of awards as announced by 100% Design South Africa programme director, Cathy O’Clery:

Best Furniture Design – Meyer von Wielligh

Best Lighting Design – Laurie Wiid Van Heerden

Best Surface Design – Papilio

Best Textile Design – Design Team

Best Product Design – Renee Rossouw

Best International Design – Generation for 100% Hotel

Best Stand Design – Mungo stand and maker’s hub

Designer of the Year Award – David Krynauw

Thebe Reed Exhibitions





Issue 16

Issue 16

November 2015

This article was featured on page 47-48 of
To Build Magazine Issue 16.

Share this

Power Purchase  Conference 2018 take off 23 Nov 18
 Affiliated Members AAAMSA - The Association of Architectural Aluminium Manufacturers of South Africa | Tel: 011 805 5002 CifA Institute for Landscape Architecture in South Africa KSA - Kitchen Specialist Association | Tel: 0827878806 SAIA